The Final Countdown

I find myself looking at the “Days Until” countdown about 6 times per day, and the fact that I am leaving the country for the better part of a year is surreal! I am happy, nervous, excited, and anxious all at the same time. I have been planning and dreaming about living in South America for so long that it really shouldn’t surprise me that the day that it finally is going to happen is rapidly approaching, but that is not the case at all. It’s hard to say goodbye to so many people that I love all at once, especially when everything about the next few months is incredibly uncertain. I don’t know what it will be like to sleep outside in the Andes for a month, or live with a family in Chile, what my classes will be like, or how I’m going to pack for such a long and diverse trip, but I’m about to figure it out!

Looking ahead:

Mountaineering- Aysen Region de Chile, January

Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Valparaiso, February-July

I will not be able to post any updates during my time in Patagonia, but look for a recap of the expedition once I settle in at school in Valparaiso!

Leave a Reply

