One Step Closer

photo- NOLS Patagonia

The high temps for the week sit in the upper 20s and it seems to snow at least a little bit everyday here in Houghton now. With winter just around the corner, it’s hard not to think about what else is around the corner for me… Patagonia expedition! Flights are booked, and the last-minute preparations have begun. My student visa was approved after a long and grueling process. The next step: figure out how to pack my entire life (and gear) into a suitcase or two.

I’ve started to realize how much everything is about to change, in every way possible, literally. My days will go from experiments, research, and meetings to climbing, camping, and adventure. From life in a college town to life on a glacier. From sea level to 12,000 feet. From English to Spanish.

It’s a series of changes and challenges I am more than ready to take on. My previous South American experiences have taught me to just relax and figure it out one thing at a time, and that is exactly what I am aiming to do. I have no idea what it will be like to leave everything I have behind, to have no communication to my family and friends, and to completely put my academic and athletic career on pause. That’s the most intriguing part for me- not knowing what to expect.

Even with so much excitement ahead, I’m trying to focus on all the great things I have in front of me right now. An amazing group of girls on my cross country team, challenging classes and research, snow in the Keweenaw, and Thanksgiving break on the horizon.

But for now, just one step at a time.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k-x-eKJaEb0

Leave a Reply

